Check For Matric NSC Final Exam Preparation 2022

Matric NSC Final Exam Preparation 2022

With less than 100 days left before the start of the National Senior Certificate (NSC) examinations, Matric students should be well underway with their exam preparations and revisions. Matric exams are a very important time in a students life, as they will determine whether they can gain entrance into university (or other higher education institutions), and whether they will secure funding. Read more on

If you are in Matric this year (or your child is in Matric), this article will surely help you. In this article, we will share the final NSC exam timetable for 2022, past exam papers and memos, as well as answer some common NSC questions. Please keep reading to find out more.
Firstly, the National Senior Certificate (NSC) is a South African Qualification achieved by learners who pass Grade 12 (Matric) in High School. Students generally complete an NSC in 3 to 5 years, which includes studies done in 3 Grades: Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12.

The NSC exams will begin on 31 October and end on 7 December 2022 – students can download the final NSC 2022 exam timetable here (.pdf)

Past exam papers and memorandums for Matric NSC exam revision:

2021 final NSC exams
2021 mid-year NSC exams
2020 final NSC exams
2019 final NSC exams
2019 mid-year NSC exams
2018 final NSC exams
2018 mid-year NSC exams
2017 final NSC exams
2017 mid-year NSC exams
2016 final NSC exams
2016 mid-year NSC exams
2015 final NSC exams
2015 mid-year NSC exams
2014 final NSC exams
2014 mid-year NSC exams
2013 final NSC exams

Student may also download these past papers from the National Department of Basic Education’s website

Additional NSC exam preparation: Mind the Gap study guides

The Department of Basic Education have compiled study guides for all subjects (called “Mind the Gap study guide”), which will help students prepare for their final CAPS 12 exams.

These study guides do not cover the entire CAPS curriculum, instead they focus on core content of each knowledge area and show students where they can earn easy marks.

Students are encouraged to work their way through these guides in order to improve their understanding, identify areas of weakness and correct their own mistakes.

Download the Mind the Gap study guides here

Who can write the NSC exams?

The NSC exam is open to:

  • all current Grade 12/ Matric learners
  • anyone who would like to improve their previous NSC results and who is still a NSC candidate (they have not had their certificate changed to SC) – they may register as a part-time candidate for the NSC exam

What subjects will I be tested on in the NSC exams?

All students will write the 4 compulsory exams, which include: one Home Language, one First Additional Language, Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy, Life Orientation and either English or Afrikaans as one of your languages
The other exams will be made up of your 3 subject electives (read about subject choices from the DBE)

What are the minimum criteria to receive an NSC?

There are 3 level passes students can achieve:
1) Higher certificate pass: the lowest level of pass, which requires students to pass a minimum of 6 out of 7 subjects. Students must achieve a minimum of: 40% for their Home Language, 40% in two other subjects and 30% in four other subjects.

2) Diploma pass: which requires students to pass a minimum of 6 out of 7 subjects. Students must achieve a minimum of: 40% for their Home Language, 40% in three other subjects (excluding Life Orientation) and 30% in the Language of Learning and Teaching (LOLT) of the tertiary institution.

3) Bachelor’s Degree pass: the highest level of a pass, which requires students to pass a minimum of 6 out of 7 subjects. Students must achieve a minimum of: 40% for their Home Language, 50% in four other subjects (excluding Life Orientation), 30% in Language of Learning and Teaching (LOLT) of the tertiary and 30% in one other subject.

What pass level do I need in order to study further after Matric?

Students who wish to pursue further studies at a University, University of Technology, TVET College, or any accredited Higher Learning Institution after Matric, must achieve a Bachelor’s Degree Pass in their NSC exams. This will make them eligible to apply for degree studies (students should note that there are additional requirements for certain degrees, eg. Medicine, Engineering and certain Science qualifications).

What is the level system and what do the grades mean?

The level system is a scale of achievement for the NSC. The level system records and reports results for Grades R to Grade 12, implemented from 2013:

  • Level 7: 80–100% (Outstanding achievement)
  • Level 6: 70–79% (Meritorious achievement)
  • Level 5: 60–69% (Substantial achievement)
  • Level 4: 50–59% (Moderate achievement)
  • Level 3: 40–49% (Adequate achievement)
  • Level 2: 30–39% (Elementary achievement)
  • Level 1: 0–29% (Not achieved: Fail)

What is the difference between NSC and SC?

The difference between the NSC and the SC is that the National Senior Certificate (NSC) is a high school-leaving certificate which requires high school learners to complete examinations and the School-Based Assessment, while the Senior Certificate (SC) is for adult learners who are 21 years and older (also known as Adult Matric) and is based only on examinations.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.